Friday in early October, so it must be time for ULCCs Future of Technology in Education at Senate House in London. I’ve been fortunate to be able to go several times, but it is always a scramble to get one of the scarce tickets when they are released on Eventbrite during August. They often seem to get released when I am away on holiday so I’ve sat in a variety of places and booked a ticket for FOTE.

The conference usually gives a good insight into the preoccupations of educational technologists at a particular time. In some ways I know I tend to use it as a bit of a checklist as much as being a conference that surfaces completely new things. So it is a case of looking at the trends and thinking about how that is relevant to us, what are we doing in that area, are there other things we need to be thinking about.

Current preoccupations in this area are certainly around practicalities, ethics etc of learning analytics. Interesting to see that Arkivum are here with a stand, that recognises a current preoccupation around Research Data Management.

I know I haven’t been blogging much since the Summer, mainly due to too many other things going on, a new library management system and discovery system implementation primarily. So I want to find a bit of time to reflect on FOTE and our new LMS.

IMG_0024.JPG

